Beware: Anger = Stress

Standard

As I’m sitting in my living room watching television last night, this pastor started talking about stress and many times it comes from anger. The approach that this Pastor took was really cool. His name is Gregory Dickow. Everything he said made complete and total sense. Just this week, I experienced what he was talking about.

I believe what I like the most is the fact that he confirmed his message with scriptures from the Word of God. He said (and I’m paraphrasing of course) that there are some things that directly causes anger that we need to remove from our lives. I believe these are going to be the triggers or misconceptions
that can cause us to fall in the trap of anger.

1.) We try to get people to do what we want them to do.
2.) Anger releases tension but we need to release tension in another way.
3.) Some people say they can control anger but it can quickly change or build up.
4.) Anger can be silent but people think it’s always loud.

I don’t know about you but I learned a lot just from these 4 issues. I mean I have completely been awakened. I may have heard this before, but its another thing to really listen to see if it applies to you. Maybe there are things I need to work on to minimize stress in my life. I never thought about the influence that anger could have on stress until this week. It started with my mom telling me how worry leads to anger. What is worry? It’s a negative stress and it’s something we do not need in our life.

I have thought about how to avoid anger in the first place by refocusing. However, having the scriptures to help you through and having some examples of what contributes, truly opened my eyes. If you have time to read these scriptures you will see what I mean. James 1: 19-22, Proverbs 16:32, and Proverbs 22:24-25. I read KJV, but The Message version may help some folk understand clearer.

Peace, love, and blessings!

Leave a Reply

